Northern Star Co-op: Board of Directors

As a local cooperative, we are governed by a Board of Directors elected by member0owners through a nomination and voting process at the cooperative's Annual Meeting, held each January. The Directors provide leadership and a vision for the cooperative's leadership and employee team to carry out. 

The Board of Directors are a crucial factor in the success of their co-op. They must clearly understand their role to effectively serve the member-owners who elect them.

There are five key areas in with board members are involved:

  1. Leadership/Planning
  2. Legal Responsibility
  3. Financial Analysis
  4. Controls
  5. Communication

The Board Members for Northern Star Cooperative Services are: 

  • Jim Peterson - President
  • Vic Williams Jr. - Vice President
  • Travis Anttila - Secretary
  • Jason Newberg - Director
  • Shirley Nixon - Director
  • John D. Scheel - Director
  • Barb Gunderson - Director